Scapis logo

SCAPIS Organisation

The SCAPIS study is led by the National Steering Committee overseen by the International Advisory Board and supported by the National Operations Committees and the Research Support Office. The universities and university hospitals have the operational responsibilities for study execution at their respective site managed by a Local Steering Committee.

Working groups within the five prioritised research areas – Metabolism, Biomarkers, Registry, Pulmonary medicine, and Image analyses – are responsible for the scientific program and ongoing internal analyses within their research area.

SCAPIS National Steering Committee

The National Steering Committee have representatives from all study centers endorsed by the universities and include experts in cardiology, pulmonary medicine, radiology and ethics.

Professor Göran Bergström, University of Gothenburg Director (PI Gothenburg)

Professor Anders Blomberg, Umeå University (PI Umeå)

Associated Professor John Brandberg, University of Gothenburg

Professor Gunnar Engström, Lund University (PI Malmö/Lund)

Professor Jan Engvall, Linköping University

Professor Mats G Hansson, Uppsala University

Professor Tomas Jernberg, Karolinska Institute (PI Stockholm)

Professor Lars Lind, Uppsala University

Associated Professor Margaretha Persson, Lund University

Professor Annika Rosengren, University of Gothenburg

Professor Magnus Sköld, Karolinska Institute

Professor Johan Sundström, Uppsala University (PI Uppsala)

Associated Professor Stefan Söderberg, Umeå University

Professor Kjell Torén, University of Gothenburg

Professor Carl-Johan Östgren, Linköping University vice Director (PI Linköping)

Representative from Swedish Heart-Lung Foundation: Mira Ernkvist

National project leader: Charlotta Elfström

International National Scientific Advisory Board

Professor Marike Boezen, University of Groningen, Groningen, NL (Chairman)

Professor Göran Berglund, Skånes University Hospital and Lund University, Malmö, SE

Professor Robert Clarke, University of Oxford, UK

Professor Marc Dewey, Radiology Institute at Charité University of Medicine, Berlin, GE

Professor Ulf De Faire, Karolinska Institute, Solna, SE

Professor Kay-Tee Khaw, University of Cambridge, UK

Professor and Director Juhani Knuuti, Turku PET Centre, Turku University Hospital, Turku, FI

Professor Claes-Göran Löfdahl, Skånes University Hospital and Lund University, Lund, SE

Professor Eva Prescott, University of Copenhagen and Bispebjerg University Hospital, Copenhagen, DK

Professor Anders Waldenström, Umeå University, Umeå, SE


Main funder of SCAPIS is the Swedish Heart-Lung Foundation and with considerable support from Knut and Alice Wallenbergs Foundation, Vinnova, The Swedish Research Council and the participating Universities (Uppsala University, Umeå University, Linköping University, Lund University and University of Gothenburg and Karolinska Institute) and University Hospitals (Uppsala University Hospital, University Hospital of Umeå, Linköping University Hospital, Skåne University Hospital, Sahlgrenska University Hospital and Karolinska University Hospital).